关于立即域名搜索

在加入 Y Combinator 在哈佛大学的首次创业学院后,我于 2005 年建立了立即域名搜索。演讲那天过后,我渴望创业。我有一些想法,却为 WHOIS 查询的缓慢速度以及找寻一个好域名的困难程度而感到沮丧。

原来,VeriSign 每晚都会在一个巨大的区域文件里发布一份域名表。一旦我将区域访问协议传真回 VeriSign,他们就会向我提供该区域文件的访问权。我有一个设有脚本的专用服务器,可以用 MySQL 将数百万的 .com 域名编入索引。

我惊讶于首个版本的速度便如此之快。一旦让 JavaScript、PHP 和 MySQL 平稳运行,我立刻在创业学院维基网站上发布了本网站的首个版本。不久之后,我收到一封来自保罗·格雷厄姆的电子邮件,他邀请我将其应用到 Y Combinator。迈克尔·阿灵顿注意到了本网站,并于 2005 年 11 月将其公布到 TechCrunch。

我在 2006 年收到来自 Y Combinator 的资金并且创建了一款名叫 Snipshot 的在线图片编辑器。我在 2009 年加入 Facebook 任工程师,在高强度地工作四年后,于 2013 年离职负责其他项目。

立即域名搜索是在2005年创建于博·哈茨霍恩(Beau Hartshorne)。

About Us

I built Instant Domain Search in 2005 after attending Y Combinator’s inaugural Startup School at Harvard. After the day of lectures, I was eager to launch a startup. I had a few ideas, but I was frustrated with how slow WHOIS queries are–and how hard it is to find a good name.

It turns out that VeriSign publishes a list of domain names in a giant zone file every night. Once I faxed the zone access agreement back to VeriSign, they provided me with access to the zone file. I got a dedicated server, hacked together a script, and was able to index the hundreds of millions of .com domain names with MySQL.

I was surprised by how fast even the first version was. Once I had the JavaScript, PHP, and MySQL running smoothly, I posted a first version of the site to the Startup School wiki. Soon after, I got an email from Paul Graham inviting me to apply to Y Combinator. Michael Arrington noticed the site and published it to TechCrunch in November of 2005.

I received funding from Y Combinator in 2006 and built an online image editor, Snipshot. I joined Facebook as an engineer in 2009 and, after four intense years, left in 2013 to work on other projects.

Instant Domain Search was built in 2005 by Beau Hartshorne.

Beau Hartshorne

Contact

Hartshorne Software, Inc.

10796 Madrona Drive
North Saanich, BC   V8L 5M7
Canada